Jack Baskin School of Engineering
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95064


Alexander Wolf
Dean of the Baskin School of Engineering
Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Computer Engineering

Baskin Engineering 335

Special Assistant to the Dean

Abigail Kaun
Special Assistant to the Dean

Baskin Engineering Room 339

Assistant Dean

Maureen McLean
Assistant Dean

831-459-1564 (office)
Baskin Engineering, Room 347

Director Of Academic Affairs

Kathy Beattie
Director of Academic Affairs

Baskin Engineering, Room 321

Facilities and Laboratory Director

Robert Vitale
Director of Laboratories and Facilities
Electrical Engineer

831-459-3794 (Office)
831-596-5360 (Mobile)
Baskin Engineering, Room 349
M-F 9am-6pm via appointment UCSC Google Calendar

Computing Director

Tim Gustafson
Computing Director

Baskin Engineering, Room 313A
M-F, 9:00AM to 5:00PM

Director of Undergraduate Student Affairs

Dr. Carmen Robinson
Director of Undergraduate Affairs

Baskin Engineering, Room 235

Director of Graduate Student Affairs

Tracie Tucker
Director of Graduate Student Affairs
Graduate Advisor, Biomolecular Engineering MS/PhD
Graduate Advisor, Computational Media MS/PhD

Oakes Academic 221
Monday thru Friday, 9:00AM to 6:00PM (Walk-In Advising M-W 8:30am-2:00pm, Th 8:30am-12:00pm))

Office of Sponsored Projects

Senior Department Managers

Danielle D. Ditmars
Senior Department Manager, Electrical Engineering
Senior Department Manager, Computer Engineering
Senior Department Manager, Technology Management
Senior Department Manager, Computational Media

Engineering 2, Room 298C

Dana Pierce
Senior Department Manager, Computer Science
Senior Department Manager, Applied Mathematics & Statistics
Senior Department Manager, Biomolecular Engineering

Engineering 2, Room 298E
Monday-Friday 7am-4pm

Student Affairs

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs

Tracy Larrabee
Professor, Computer Engineering
Associate Dean of Engineering for Undergraduate Affairs

Engineering 2, Room 337A
By appointment

Associate Dean for Industry Programs

Patrick Mantey
Professor, Technology Management
Jack Baskin Endowed Professor, Computer Engineering
CITRIS Campus Director
Associate Dean for Industry Programs
Director of ITI

Engineering 2, Room 595J
Wednesday 2-4 PM and by appointment

Associate Dean For Research

Holger Schmidt
Professor, Electrical Engineering
Narinder Singh Kapany Endowed Chair of Optoelectronics
Associate Dean for Research
Director, W.M. Keck Center for Nanoscale Optofluidics

Baskin Engineering, Room 245

Applied Mathematics and Statistics Graduate Director

Athanasios Kottas
Director, Graduate Program, Statistics & Applied Mathematics
Professor of Statistics

Baskin Engineering, Room 365A
By appointment

Biomolecular Engineering and Bioinformatics Graduate Director

Richard Edward Green
Associate Professor, Biomolecular Engineering

Biomedical Sciences Bldg, Room 146

Computational Media Graduate Director

Noah Wardrip-Fruin
Professor, Computational Media

Engineering 2, Room 271
Winter 17 office hours: 11:00-11:45 Tuesdays & 10:00-10:45 Fridays in E2 271. No office hours March 7 & 17

Computer Engineering Graduate Director

Katia Obraczka
Professor, Computer Engineering

Engineering 2, Room 323

Computer Science Graduate Director

Alex Pang
Professor, Graduate Program Director, Computer Science

Engineering 2, Room 359

Electrical Engineering Graduate Director

Hamid R. Sadjadpour
Professor, Electrical Engineering
Graduate Program Director,

Engineering 2, Room 245B
M 3:00 pm - 4:00 p.m. and W 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.

Technology Management Graduate Director

John Musacchio
Associate Professor, Technology Management

Engineering 2, Room 557

Undergraduate Student Affairs Director

Department Chairs

Applied Mathematics and Statistics

Nicholas Brummell
Chair, Applied Mathematics & Statistics
Professor, Applied Mathematics & Statistics

Baskin Engineering, Room 357A

Biomolecular Engineering

Todd M. Lowe
Department Chair

Physical Sciences Bldg, Room 320
Mondays 1:15-2:15pm & Thurs 1:30-2:30 pm (Or by appointment)

Computational Media

Michael Mateas
Chair, Computational Media
Professor, Computational Media
Director, Center for Games and Playable Media

Engineering 2, Room 373
Friday, 1PM to 2PM

Computer Engineering

Martine Schlag
Professor, Computer Engineering
Chair, Computer Engineering

Engineering 2, Room 219
Winter 17: Tu 1-2pm, F 11:00am-noon, Spring 17: to be determined

Computer Science

David Helmbold
Professor, Computer Science
Chair, Computer Science

Engineering 2, Room 345B

Electrical Engineering

Joel Kubby
Chair, Electrical Engineering
Professor, Electrical Engineering

Baskin Engineering, Room 249
Tu/W 4-5 PM

Technology Management

Brent M. Haddad
Chair, Technology Management
Director, Center for Entrepreneurship
Director, Center for Integrated Water Research
Professor, Environmental Studies

Engineering 2, Room 567