Stay Informed:

COVID-19 (coronavirus) information
Zoom Links: Zoom Help | Teaching with Zoom | Zoom Quick Guide

David Draper honored for excellence in teaching

David Draper honored for excellence in teaching
David Draper honored for excellence in teaching
Monday, June 4, 2007

The UC Santa Cruz Academic Senate Committee on Teaching has announced the winners of the 2006-07 Excellence in Teaching Awards. Applied mathematics and statistics professor David Draper was among the 7 faculty members honored for this annual award, which recognizes exemplary and inspiring teaching.

The committee cited Draper for "exceptional commitment to teaching applied mathematics and statistics, for creating a positive learning environment, for well-crafted lectures, real-world case studies, and interactive problem-solving, for helping students teach themselves how to learn."

The Excellence in Teaching Awards were presented May 23 at University House by Acting Chancellor George Blumenthal and Committee on Teaching Chair Murray Baumgarten .

Other UCSC faculty members receiving the 2006-07 awards are George Brown, physics; Bruce Lyon, ecology and evolutionary biology; Mara Mather, psychology; Brad Olsen, education; Adriane Steinacker, astronomy and astrophysics; and Andrew Szasz, sociology.

The committee also recognized 10 teaching assistants and lecturers for excellence, among them Greg O'Bryan, teaching assistant for chemistry professor Rebecca Braslau. Other graduate students and lecturers honored are Chris Baker, psychology; Amanda Calvert, history of consciousness; Carrie Cifka-Herrera, education; Ascander Dost, linguistics; Jeffrey Hagen, computer science; Marisa Knight, psychology; Michael Murphy, history; Marina Sarran, sociology; and Kojun Sunseri, anthropology.