Breadth Requirements

There are ten breadth categories. Only the graduate courses appearing below have been approved to be on the breadth list. If the course you want to take does not appear below, it may still count as an elective course. A course may count only towards one breadth area. Computer Science and Computer Engineering courses have prefixes CMPS and CMPE in the UCSC catalog.

Computer Architecture and Networks

Computer Graphics/ Scientific Visualization

Data Management

Interactive Computing and Gaming

Machine Learning / Artificial Intelligence

Software Engineering and Programming Languages


Systems and Security

Theoretical Computer Science

Vision, Multimedia, and Image Processing

Courses NOT in any breadth category

If a course is not listed here, you should assume it will not count.